Sunday, September 21, 2014

David Sylvian & Holger Czukay

Plight & Premonition is the first of two collaborations between David Sylvian and Can's bassist Holger Czukay, Flux and Mutability being their second. It was released in March 1988. The music is ambient, makes use of 'found sounds'. It consists of two instrumental tracks, both of which are over 15 minutes long. The album peaked at no.71 in the UK albums chart.

Track listing

1."Plight (The Spiralling of Winter Ghosts)" – 18:30
2."Premonition (Giant Empty Iron Vessel)" – 16:21


David Sylvian – electric guitar, keyboards, piano, vibraphone, harmonium, record producer
Holger Czukay – organ, piano, shortwave radio, treatments, producer

Additional personnel

Yuka Fujii - design, photography (assisted by Icon, London).
Mekon - artwork
Jaki Liebezeit – infra sound
Karl Lippergaus – radio tuning 

download this album via torrent from here

Flux + Mutability is the second collaboration between David Sylvian and Holger Czukay. It was released in September 1989. The music consists of two instrumental tracks improvised by the participants.
Track listing
1. "Flux (A Big Bright Colourful World)" (Sylvian, Czukay) – 16:56
2. "Mutability (A New Beginning in the Offing)" (Sylvian, Czukay) – 20:59

Personnel and productionHolger Czukay – electric guitar, bass guitar, dictaphone, radio
David Sylvian – electric guitar, keyboard instruments
Michael Karoli – electric guitar
Markus Stockhausen – flugelhorn
Jaki Liebezeit – percussion instruments, African flute

 download this album via torrent from here