Monday, August 1, 2016

Midnight Cowboy (1969) movie and soundtrack

 Midnight Cowboy is a 1969 American drama film based on the 1965 novel of the same name by James Leo Herlihy. The film was written by Waldo Salt, directed by John Schlesinger, and stars Jon Voight in the title role alongside Dustin Hoffman. Notable smaller roles are filled by Sylvia Miles, John McGiver, Brenda Vaccaro, Bob Balaban, Jennifer Salt and Barnard Hughes.
The film won three Academy Awards: Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay. It was the only X-rated film ever to win Best Picture, though its rating has since been changed to R. It has since been placed 36th on the American Film Institute's list of the 100 greatest American films of all time, and 43rd on its 2007 updated version.


download this movie via torrent from here
download the soundtrack via torrent from here


John Barry, who supervised the music and composed the score, won a Grammy for Best Instrumental Theme. Fred Neil's song "Everybody's Talkin'" won a Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance, for Harry Nilsson.
Schlesinger chose the song "Everybody's Talkin'" (written by Fred Neil and performed by Harry Nilsson) as its theme, and the song underscores the first act. Other songs considered for the theme included Nilsson's own "I Guess the Lord Must Be in New York City" and Randy Newman's "Cowboy". Bob Dylan wrote "Lay Lady Lay" to serve as the theme song, but did not finish the song in time.
The song "He Quit Me" was on the soundtrack, performed by Lesley Miller; it was written by Warren Zevon, who included it (as "She Quit Me") on his debut album Wanted Dead or Alive. The soundtrack also features music from Elephant's Memory, Randy Newman and Harry Nilsson, and electronic music passages performed by Moog Synthesizer pioneer Walter Sear.
The movie's main theme, "Midnight Cowboy", featured harmonica by Toots Thielemans, but on its album version it was played by Tommy Reilly.It was covered by instrumental duo Ferrante & Teicher as a single, and reached #10 on the Billboard Hot 100 pop chart in January 1970.
A soundtrack album for the film was released by United Artists Records in 1969.

Track listing

  1. Nilsson - "Everybody's Talkin'" (Fred Neil) 2:30 Arranged By, Conductor – George Tipton
  2. John Barry - "Joe Buck Rides Again" 3:46
  3. The Groop - "A Famous Myth" 3:22 Arranged By, Conductor – Garry Sherman
  4. John Barry - "Fun City" 3:52
  5. Leslie Miller - "He Quit Me" (Warren Zevon) 2:46 Arranged By, Conductor – Garry Sherman
  6. Elephants Memory - "Jungle Gym at the Zoo" 2:15 Producer – Wes Farrell
  7. John Barry - "Midnight Cowboy" 2:34
  8. Elephants Memory "Old Man Willow" 7:03 Producer – Wes Farrell
  9. John Barry - "Florida Fantasy" 2:08
  10. The Groop - "Tears and Joys" 2:09 Arranged By, Conductor – Garry Sherman
  11. John Barry - "Science Fiction" 1:57
  12. Nilsson - "Everybody's Talkin'" (Fred Neil) 1:54 Arranged By, Conductor – George Tipton

No comments: